and Maintaining Your Texas Real Estate License
Most Asked Questions . . .
needs a real estate license? Generally, according to
the Real Estate License Act, anyone who sells, purchases, rents,
leases, appraises, lists or exchanges real estate for another for a
fee or other consideration, must have a license. There are some
exceptions, such as attorneys.
types of licenses are there? A salesperson's license and a
broker's license are the two types. A salesperson can engage in
the practice of real estate only under the supervision of a broker,
and must be sponsored by a broker in order to get a license. The
usual working relationship between salesperson and broker is that a
salesperson is an independent contractor.
are the specific requirements for a license? Effective
September 1, 1993, you must be a resident of Texas at time of
application, a U.S. citizen or legally admitted alien, at least 18
years of age, and be of good character. In addition, you (and,
for a salesperson, your sponsoring broker) must complete an
application you must pass a licensing examination. You must also meet
an education requirement. Broker applicants must additionally
fulfill an experience requirement as a salesperson. Persons
residing in a city adjacent to Texas may also apply for a license if
they meet all other requirements. A resident broker of another
state may apply for a non-resident Texas broker's license if all
requirement other than Texas residence are met. If you have been
licensed in another state, you will need to submit a complete history
signed by the licensing agency of the state(s) in which you were licensed.
What are the education requirements for a salesperson's license? For original application, 180 classroom hours (12 semester hours) of approved educational courses, including 90 classroom hours (6 semester hours) of core real estate courses, of which a minimum of 30 classroom hours (2 semester hours) must be in Principles of Real Estate, a minimum of 30 classroom (2 semester hours) must be completed in an acceptable Law of Agency Course and a minimum of 30 classroom hours (2 semester hours) must be completed in a acceptable Law of Contracts Course. The other 90 classroom hours can be in core real estate courses other real estate courses or real estate related courses.
For first annual renewal (re-certification) you must have 30 hours beyond the initial requirement or a total of 210 classroom hours (14 semester hours) including 120 classroom hours (8 semester hours) in core real estate courses.
For second annual renewal (re-certification) you must have 60 hours beyond the initial requirement, or a total of 240 classroom hours (16 semester hours) including 150 classroom hours (10 semester hours) in core real estate courses.
For third annual renewal (re-certification) you must have 90 hours beyond the initial requirement, or a total of 270 classroom hours (18 semester hours) including 180 classroom hours (12 semester hours) in core real estate courses.
Your re-certification hours may be taken annually as due, or may be taken in advance. If taken annually, the completion certificate must be furnished to the Texas Real Estate Commission prior to your license expiration date.
Who will tell me when my re-certification is due? This is your personal responsibility! The information is on your license and is also on the pocket I.D. card which comes with your license. Read it!!! As a courtesy, the Texas Real Estate Commission will send a renewal notice to your broker 90 days before your license expires, but assumes no responsibility for your being notified.